• Registered
hi all! i am just new to this so please bare with me!

I have 3 Children aged 12 (girl) 10(boy) 8(boy)
M 8 year old son was diagnosed with tourettes syndrome when he was 6 after years of going back and fourth to different medical organisations..
we have a had a tough few years with regards to my sons behaviour,mainly major anger problems lashing out and being excluded from school over 20 times!!
we have been to gp, nuerologist, calms, ed psyc who all passed us from pillar to post which was really stressful and frustrating.
Eventually after many a year we are involved with a great psychiatric team whom on thursday of this week diagnosed my son with asd in addition to his tourettes.
I have really been struggling with his second diagnosis as for me it came almost out of the blue! We had spoke to his psychiatrist 3 weeks ago and this was the first mention of asd so when we returned on thursday and he gave an official diagnosis of asd i went into SHOCK!
i think i was expecting months of tests etc.
We also have a 10 year old whom we think has adhd so we are going through the relevant fields trying to get help for him.
I suppose my question is to you all is how do you cope with your Children disabilities? I am in melt down just now,the wind has been blown from my sails and i am an emotional wreck even though i wont allow myself to cry;-(
hayley x

• Established member
It took me 2 years to get a diagnosis for my daughter whilst going through all the hospital appointments she was eventually disagnosed with cerebral palsy, at first i didn't have a clue what to do!

Now i try to live each day by what gets thrown at us, we all have good days and we all have bad days, try to find something every day that makes you smile, a new skill he has learnt, something that he has done/said that makes you smile, remember to look for the small things in life and not the milestones the general population look for