• Established member
Hi there, Our 5 year old daughter Chiara has recently been diagnosed with Autism, GDD and ADHD, we are very confused as to what we can claim in way of financial help and also whether we would receive a mobility car, as she is near impossible to walk anywhere, due to her lack of understanding, lack of fear/danger on the road, she is petrified of lorry sounds (well anything louder than the norm) has furious meltdowns. She has recently run out into the road and straight into the side of a car (luckily they saw her and slowed down, it could've been so worse), as she had a meltdown and just ran from us. I just wondered if anyone else has a child with the same or similar, and whether they received the higher rates and car? thanks Carrie xx

• Established member
Hi, Im new to all this but thought Id let you know our situation incase it helps! My son got middle care rate aged 2. My understanding is that children under age 5 or 6 not entitled to mobility eliment unless they get high rate care. My son was diagnosed with severe kanners autism aged 20 months. He is very severe, non verbal, sensory issues & more recently diagnosed with adhd. He was so severe or should a say his behaviours where so challenging that the local early years placement for intervention cut his place from two full days to two one hour sessions each week because he required two staff to manage him. Anyway we got his care element reviewed and they changed it to high rate care which meant we were able to apply for mobility when he was about 3. But I think when child turns 5 then they can get low rate mobility and middle care for example. Child does not need to have high rate to qualify. What care element are you on now?? Hope this helps

• VIP
Hi,