• Registered
Hi I am very new to this and a little fragile but I need some urgent help and advice. My little boy who's now aged 6 and not so little anymore is absolutely gorgeous but is having quite a rough time at the moment. He has ASD and is quite low on the spectrum, he also has learning disabilities, on top of all this his dad left 3 weeks before Christmas, which he was ok about but the few occasions that he's seen him since have really upset his routine and have affected him physically.
On top of this he cant even play in our back garden as its completely unsafe, there are needles and wood chippings all over the grass from trees that have recently been chopped down, these also exposed a chainlink fence which he is constantly trying to climb over. There are other areas which are also unsecure and a banking which he could fall down onto an uneven wall.
My house is privately owned, I requested help from the council nearly 4 years ago and am still waiting. I have also requested an initial/core assessment from social services, now I just feel that now matter what words I use they will come up with some excuse why I shouldn't have one.
I wondered if there was a charity that helped with this sort of thing, or this will mean another summer spent indoors for my angel, how can that be right?

• VIP
My son doesn't have ASD, he has Cerebal Palsy. From this he needs the imput of a Occupational Therpaist. Friends of ours have a daughter with ASD, she has the same occupational therapist as my son.
He is my first point of contact when I have problems with our housing. He also does the same for my friends.
This leads me to think maybe you need a referal to the Occupational Therapy team in your area. I know my son's OT has claimed things through the Disabilities Facilities Grant for children with ASD who are putting themsleves in danger.
Talk to your sons doctor and get a referal, seems social services are really not helping you.

• Administrators