• Registered
Hi,
My son is 13, he is currently attending a MLD SEN school, but is due to change to a SLD SEN school after easter. Ive been aware of this situation on and off for a couple of years and it was me that eventually said I think the time has come to move him. He is being left behind socially and I feel he needs to be around other children like him. The new school he will be moving too he will be one of the higher achievers where as the school he is at now he is one of the lower achievers.

I have currently been off work sick for the last 6wks with a shoulder injury and I feel that this physical injury has given me too much time to think about the future and has impacted enormously on my mental state. I feel that I am grieving again, I haven't done this since his diagnosis 8years ago. I love him to bits and only want whats best for him. So why am I so upset.

He is very hormonal at the moment and is very aggressive with it. I work in the field so know all the rewards, sanctions, this first then that kind of approaches and nothing seems to be working. I filled a CAF form in with his learning mentor in January and nobody wants to take it on. My mind keeps wondering what things will be like when he is 20, 30, 40 and so on and what will hapen to him when Im gone. I know I am torturing myself, my family feel helpless as they don't know how to help me and I don't know how to help myself. Im a single mum, but i get respite when he goes to stay with his dad. But when he kicks off Im here on my own and he is getting big. Sorry I seem to have gone off topic abit here.

• Moderators
hiya
it sounds like you are stuck in a vicious circle, being off work has given you time to overthink things that you know deep down you are doing the right thing for your son which in turn is making you anxious which probably your son is picking up on and showing you how he feels in only way he knows which is to have a meltdown which makes you feel anxious and overthinking things Smile